How To Hear God

This is a beginner’s guide, simple, straightforward, and concise.  I’d love to hear your experiences, how you listen for guidance, and what your meditation practice is as well.  Also, I am using “God” here for simplicity reasons, realizing everyone has their own personal way of describing a higher guidance.

First, you find a quiet place to sit.  Then you focus on your breathing..  Next, you bring your awareness to your heart.  Breathe in deeply through your nose, breathe out slowly.  Repeat.

Why the breathing?  Because your parasympathetic nervous system becomes calm when you breathe deeply and slowly, and this allows your mind to quiet down.  A loud mind cannot hear God.  Who can hear anything over a rock concert or a war?

You may have to do this sitting and breathing thing over and over again.  Days, weeks, and possibly months…somewhere in the space between breaths, you’ll begin to find a soft quiet that is profoundly blissful.  You might find yourself addicted to this sitting and breathing practice, because if you can get yourself to do it, you’ll find out how good it feels.

There will be times when your rock concert mind or your mind at war with itself, or your soap opera mind, or whatever your mind is chattering about will just suck up all of your attention.  If you notice this, you can bring yourself back to your breath and your heart.  Do it gently and don’t expect perfection, but rather allow the process to unfold.

One day, you’ll go to your sitting place with a real dilemma.  Once you begin to breathe and feel that quiet bliss, you may even forget about the dilemma.  You’ll get an idea, and it may surprise you that you hadn’t thought of it before.  This is God talking.

Or you may see a picture that answers your challenge at hand, and this is also God talking.

There’s a voice you may hear, one that is calm and unmistakable, often referred to as the still, small voice.

This is the voice you’ve been waiting for.  And once you hear it, if you continue to hang out with God in this way, sitting and breathing, you’ll realize that He/She has been talking to you all along…and that the reason you’re sitting and breathing is because it’s what you need to do to hear That Voice, and that it is not at all that that Voice was withholding  to put you through some breathing test.

The Voice is there, and you have the tools to open your inner ears…it just takes some intention and practice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “How To Hear God”

  1. Deborah Miles Says:

    I enjoyed this. When I sit and use my cd with Mary Bontempo to do a full body Reiki treatment, all the deep breathing, all the colors, I feel so light and sometimes messages do come to me. I like the music, it is soothing.

    Like

  2. Oceana Says:

    Thanks, Deborah…sounds so peaceful…

    Like

  3. Brian Says:

    That is very simple and clear. Thanks, I will try this.

    Like

  4. Marc Israel Says:

    Thank you Oceana . This topic had a major impact on my life and I am writing this to all that feel oh thats nice or it to simple to make a difference. Try it sou will be amazed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
    Before meditating my dreams were non existent and my sleep was anything but restful. Full of mind chatter, living in the past and future as a mixed bag in a movie of life that made no sense !!, Now all that is behind me and I have discovered the inner beauty of myself and outer beauty of a world I missed. Much like the ocasional gaze in Awe we give to the stars at night every once in a while. This will change your life forever in a good way!!!! Namaste

    Like

  5. Donna Says:

    Yes, you explained it well Oceana. When I meditate, I am much more in tune with my hidden gifts and feel calm and peaceful. Listening and singing chanting music in the beginning of meditation brings me into a peaceful place immediately. I recommend Snatum Kaur or Deva Premal.

    Like

  6. Oceana Says:

    Thank you, Brian…I look forward to hearing how it goes…

    Like

  7. Oceana Says:

    Marc, you leave such meaningful and helpful reponses…thank you so much. It’s a beautiful thing to have a meditation practice, isn’t it? I find my life to be so much richer as well…

    Like

  8. Oceana Says:

    I’m so glad to hear the explanation I gave was accurate and understandable, Donna…great feedback. Thanks! I love Deva and Snatum as well, such beautiful peaceful music.

    Like

  9. Sonja Francis Says:

    Thank you for sharing this blog, Oceana. I immediately shared in on facebook on my page…it is so important to have a way to connect to our heart and our inner wisdom…everything around us can be such a distraction from the peace that resides within us at all times. Namaste ❤

    Like

  10. Oceana Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this, Sonja, and for your personal take on this. I’m encouraged to share more…Namaste ❤

    Like

    • Sonja Francis Says:

      🙂 happy to hear that, Oceana…I always love it when you share. You are truly an inspiration to me…there is such honesty in your words and you have no apologies…it is simply beautiful. Thank you for that. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

