I’m A Meat~Eating Yogini

Image

I was a vegetarian for 23 years, and a vegan for the last three of those years.  Throughout those years I was a copious reader of nutritional information, supplementing my diet, eating all of the various vegetables, proper proteins, etc, to ensure I was healthy.  The last year of this I became severely ill.  Turned out I was allergic/sensitive to: soy, yeast, wheat, gluten, tomatoes and dairy (even though I wasn’t consuming dairy at the time).  An intensive diet for years and years had taken its toll on my particular body chemistry.

 Although I was a practicing yogini for many of these years, I still held quite a bit of judgment about meat-eaters.  When I began to consume meat again, my body healed dramatically.  In this whole process, I learned so much from spirit about judgments, attitudes, processes, and personal journeys.  My original intent for vegetarianism was due to my compassion for animals.  I still hold this compassion, and have had to lean into new expanded awarenesses of the cycles of life, death, and rebirth.  I have also learned a new compassion for people.  We are all doing the best we can with the cards life has dealt.  

I have had plenty of years now to experience my own judgment of meat-eating coming back at me.  Karma’s a bitch.  It’s interesting to me to experience this judgment from people who have only met me  in the last 15 years.  Some of them have no idea what my life journey has been, but they are intent on teaching me the error of my ways.  I recognize that zeal, that enthusiasm for what one feels is the very best thing they’re contributing to the world.   I’m looking forward to the day that we collectively understand that no one path is best for everyone, but rather that we each have our unique journeys, lessons, paths to awareness.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “I’m A Meat~Eating Yogini”

  1. Benecia Ponder Says:

    I agree, karma is something serious! 🙂 I’m glad your experience taught you about not judging others for their choices. I pray for yoru continued enlightenment! 🙂

    Like

  2. erinemhatton Says:

    Funny how life can get so turned on his head. I’ve learned a lot about not judging others, because it does all come back around. 🙂

    Like

  3. Deborah Miles Says:

    Love this post! I also tried to be a vegetarian and found several foods turned to sugar like noodles and others and I developed Candida. I started eating wild salmon, then organic chicken. It has helped my health tremendously, but unfortunately some people I read have a battle once it happens and that is my battle still, while others cure right up. I too realize each person is an individual and we must all do what is right for our own body. After all, it’s our body. I have lost a few friends on face book because of this, but that’s just the way things go. If others want to be a vegeterian, i am fine with that.
    You are a wonderful friend.

    Like

    • Oceana Says:

      Thanks so much, Deborah. I think you’re so right, that it’s our body and we each can benefit by following our individual body messages. I appreciate how you’re true to yourself even when others fall away. The more authentic we are, the more we find ourselves surrounded by our authentic friends. I’m so glad you’re one of mine!

      Like

  4. De vleesetende Yogini | Persoonlijk Paradijs Says:

    […] Hier is de link naar het artikel van de vleesetende yogini, voor als je er toch even zelf over wilt […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

